2019 Alumni Recognition Award Recipients

Head shot of Michael Rousseau
Michael Rousseau (BBA ’81) for Outstanding Executive Leadership
Roman Dubczak (MBA ’87) for Outstanding Progress and Achievement
headshot of Laura C. Michalchyshyn (MBA '93)
Laura C. Michalchyshyn (MBA ’93) for Outstanding Public Contribution












Outstanding Executive Leadership

Awarded to a graduate who has demonstrated extraordinary achievement, leadership and innovation in a global operation.

Michael Rousseau (BBA '81)

Deputy Chief Executive Officer & CFO, Air Canada

Michael S. Rousseau was appointed Deputy Chief Executive Officer & Chief Financial Officer in January 2019. As Deputy Chief Executive Officer & Chief Financial Officer, he has oversight for several important corporate initiatives and businesses including Air Canada Rouge, in addition to his responsibilities for the airline's overall financial strategic direction comprising all aspects of financial reporting and planning, investor relations, treasury and controller's operations, taxation, pension administration, internal audit, procurement and corporate real estate. Since 2007, he had been Air Canada's Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer and he has played a significant and highly strategic role in Air Canada’s successful transformation over the past decade.

Prior to Air Canada, Michael held executive positions including those of President, and before that Executive Vice-President & Chief Financial Officer at Canada’s largest diversified general merchandise retailer, Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC). While at HBC, he developed a comprehensive investor relations program, introduced enhanced external and internal financial reporting processes and improved the cost-effectiveness of the organization. He has also held senior executive financial positions at other large, international corporations, including Moore Corporation in Chicago, Silcorp Limited and the UCS Group (a division of Imasco Limited).

Michael graduated from York University and has been a member of the Ontario Institute of Chartered Accountants since 1983. He holds the prestigious FCA and FCPA designations, conferred by CPA Ontario in recognition of his professional achievements and contributions, and he was named Canada's CFO of the Year™ for 2017 by Financial Executives International Canada (FEI Canada), PwC Canada and Robert Half. Michael has been a member of the Board of Directors at Resolute Forest Products since 2007, and he joined the Board of Chorus Aviation Inc. in 2019.

Outstanding Progress and Achievement

Awarded to a graduate who has demonstrated outstanding career potential and achieved early success and recognition in their field.

Roman Dubczak (MBA ’87)

Managing Director and Head, Global Investment Banking, CIBC

Roman Dubczak is responsible for all capital markets financing and advisory activities at CIBC. He is a member of CIBC’s Operating Committee, the Capital Markets Executive Committee and a board member of CIBC World Markets Inc. Mr. Dubczak joined CIBC in 1992 and has worked in a variety of capital markets roles. He was previously responsible for CIBC’s Global Equities, Equity Capital Markets and Corporate Debt Origination franchises. Prior to joining CIBC, Mr. Dubczak had roles in corporate development, portfolio management and assurance.

Mr. Dubczak holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Toronto (St. Michael’s College) and a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business, as well as CA, CPA, CFA and ICD.D designations.

Mr. Dubczak is currently the Chair of the St. Joseph’s Health Centre Foundation, a Director of Unity Health Toronto and the CIBC Children’s Foundation. Mr. Dubczak is also a Director of the Fraser Institute and past Chair of the Investment Industry
Association of Canada.


Outstanding Public Contribution

Awarded to a graduate who has made a significant contribution to public life.

Laura C. Michalchyshyn (MBA '93)

Producer/Owner, Hubbub Productions

Bio coming soon!

  • Past Award Recipients

    The Schulich School of Business Alumni Recognition Awards were established in 1992 to recognize the outstanding professional, personal and community achievements of graduates and friends of the Schulich School of Business.

    Outstanding Executive Leadership

    2018 Jasper Cheung (MBA ’90)
    2017 Stephen J. Sadler (MBA ’79)
    2015 Ron Mock (MBA ’79, Hon LLD ’17)
    2014 Michael Cooper (MBA ’86)
    2013 Frank Vettese (BBA ’86, MBA ’91)
    2012 P. Thomas Jenkins (MBA ’87, Hon LLD ’15)
    2011 Ellis Jacob (MBA ’76)
    2008 Bharat B. Masrani (BBA `78, MBA`79, Hon LLD ’17)
    2007 Robert R. McEwen (MBA `78, Hon LLD`05)
    2005 Robert C. Krembil (MBA `71, Hon LLD`00)
    2004 Richard E. Waugh (MBA `74, Hon LLD`07)
    2001 Kathleen P. Taylor (MBA/JD `84, Hon LLD ’14)
    2000 W. David Wilson (MBA `70)
    1999 Edmund Hau Wah Ho (BBA `78)
    1998 H. Anthony Arrell (MBA `68, Hon LLD ’08)
    1997 Steven K. Hudson (BBA `81)
    1996 Alan G. McNally (MBA `69, Hon LLD`99)
    1995 John S. Hunkin (MBA `69, Hon LLD`04)
    1994 Sheelagh D. Whittaker (MBA `75)
    1993 Morris A. Perlis (MBA `72)
    1992 William A. Dimma (MBA `69, Hon LLD ’98)


    Outstanding Progress and Achievement

    2018 S. Jane Rowe (MBA ’82)
    2017 Stacey A. Mowbray (MBA ’88)
    2015 Kishore Moorjani (BBA ’94, MBA ’95)
    2014 John Ruffolo (BBA ’88)
    2013 Patrick Iaboni (BBA ’93, MBA ’94)
    2012 Craig Kielburger (EMBA ’09)
    2011 Denise M. Pickett (MBA ’90)
    2008 Roma R. Khanna (MBA `01)
    2007 Hana E. Zalzal (MBA `92)
    2005 James P. O’Sullivan (MBA/JD `90)
    2004 Grant E. Rasmussen (MBA `93)
    2001 Sheila A. Carroll (MBA `98)
    2001 Andrew K. Montgomery (MBA `98)
    2000 Sylvia Lien (IMBA `97)
    2000 Ron Tattum (MBA/JD `97)
    1999 Beth M. Waldman (MBA `96)
    1999 Rommie Bhutani (MBA `96)
    1998 Robert J. Gemmell (MBA/JD `83)
    1997 Dan A. Plashkes (MBA `83)
    1996 Paul G. Howes (MBA `84)
    1995 Terence G. Kawaja (MBA/JD`89)
    1994 Paul S. Alofs (MBA `83)
    1993 Janice P. Anderson (MBA `89)
    1992 Kimberley J. Gaynor (MBA `89)


    Outstanding Public Contribution

    2018 M. Marianne Harris (MBA/JD ’83)
    2017 Philip A. Taylor (MBA ’79)
    2014 J. Mark Lievonen (BBA ’79, MBA ’87)
    2013 Janice R. Fukakusa (MBA ’79, Hon LLD ’16)
    2012 Thomas Closson (MBA ’79)
    2011 Colleen M. Johnston (BBA ’82)
    2008 Richard D. Falconer (MBA `70)
    2007 Rose T. Reisman (MBA `85)
    2005 Carol A. Hansell (MBA/JD `86)
    2001 Patricia M. Campbell (MBA `88)
    2000 Anne L. Swarbrick (MBA `98)
    1999 Jacques F. Lagassé (MBA `69)
    1998 Carol A. Wilding (BBA `83)
    1997 Eileen A. Mercier (MBA `77, Hon LLD ’10)
    1996 Peter C. Maurice (MBA `70)
    1995 John (Jack) H. Yocom (MBA `70)
    1994 David L. Morton (MBA `68)
    1993 Julie A. White (MBA `84)
    1992 Carol Anne Letheren (MBA `77)


    Outstanding Contribution to the Schulich School of Business

    2018 Dominic Barton (Hon LLD ’12)
    2017 Jonathan Cheung (MBA ’73)
    2015 Schuyler M. (Skip) Sigel
    2014 Howard Lichtman (JD ’79, MBA ’82)
    2013 Bill Graham (MBA ’86)
    2012 Pam Laycock (MBA ’89)
    2011 Timothy Price (Hon LLD ’09)
    2008 Thomas H. Beechy
    2007 Ann Marie Yamamoto (MBA `83)
    2005 Gordon C. Shaw
    2004 Paul W. Tsaparis (MBA `84)
    2001 James G. Foy (MBA `67)
    2000 Ronald H. Farmer
    1999 Gregory C. Coutts (MBA `83)
    1999 Sashya D’Souza (MBA ’00)*
    1998 Eric Angelini (MBA/JD ’98)*
    1997 Marshall A. Cohen
    1996 George R. Gardiner (Hon LLD `82)
    1994 Elmer S. Phillips
    1993 Murray G. Ross (Hon DLitt ’71)
    1992 James M. Gillies (Hon LLD ’06)

    *Significant Student Contribution