Dezsö J. Horváth

Our Dean​

Dezsö J. Horváth is Dean and Tanna H. Schulich Chair in Strategic Management at the Schulich School of Business, York University, where he has been a member of the faculty since 1977. Dr. Horváth holds an electrical engineering degree, a Master’s degree in Business Administration, and Licentiate and PhD degrees in Management from Sweden. Following an early career in research and development with the Swedish multinational ASEA (now ABB), he was appointed to increasingly senior academic positions at Swedish universities before joining York. In addition to publishing books and articles on strategic management and international business, he has been engaged by major corporations and governments as a consultant in these fields.

On becoming Dean in 1988, Dr. Horváth worked with internal and external stakeholders to position Schulich as Canada’s Transnational Business School™. In addition to operating the Sino-Canadian Joint Center for Executive Education at Beihang University campus in Beijing, China, Schulich has satellite centres in Mumbai, India; Beijing and Shanghai, China; Seoul, South Korea; Mexico City, Mexico; and São Paulo, Brazil. The School’s many strategic partnerships around the world include academic exchange agreements with more than 80 leading international business schools in close to 40 countries. In 2010 Schulich became the first leading international business school from outside India to deliver an MBA degree in that country, and in 2014 opened a new campus in Hyderabad, India.

In addition to his role as Dean, Dr. Horváth is a director of a number of companies and organizations and serves on the advisory board of various business schools around the world.

In 2004, Dr. Horváth was named Dean of the Year by the Academy of International Business (AIB), the world’s leading association of scholars in the field of international business. This award is given in recognition of “outstanding leadership in various aspects of internationalization, including programs, research and curriculum development, and outreach.” In 2008, he was made a Member of the Order of Canada, the highest honour in Canada, for his academic leadership and sustained commitment to business education. In 2012, he received the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition of his achievements and significant contributions to Canada. In 2014, he was selected by The Toronto Star as one of the 180 most important people, past and present, who helped shape the City of Toronto since its founding.

Dean’s Advisory Council

India Advisory Council

International Advisory Council